"Innovations Aircraft Constr"


From the Wright Brothers’ famous Wright Flyer in 1903, to the Concorde in 1969 this book emphasizes the great strides made in aircraft construction in the sixty-six years between these two famous designs. Presented in chronological order are thirty-seven classic designs that changed the history of flight: The Wright Flyer, Junkers J1, Fokker Dr. I, Junkers Ju 52, Polikarpov I-16, Messerschmitt Bf 109, Boeing B-17, Douglas DC-3/C-47, Messerschmitt Bf 110, Junkers Ju 88, Macchi MC.200-207, Messerschmitt Me 209, Nakajima Ki-43 Hayabusa, Lockheed P-38 Lightning, Heinkel He 178, Hawker Tornadeo/Typhoon, Ilyushin II-2 Sturmovik, Arado Ar 240, Chance Vought F4U Corsair, North American P-51 Mustang, De Havilland Mosquito, Messerschmitt Me 262, Hawker Tempest, Arado Ar 234, Dornier Do 335, Republic F-84F Thunderstreak, Hawker Hunter, North American F-100 Super Sabre, Lockheed F-104 Starfighter, Saab J35 Draken, Vought F-8 Crusader, Mikoyan/Gurevich MiG-21, Dassault-Breguet Mirage III/5, Northrop T-38 Talon, Hawker Siddeley Harrier, Dornier Do 31 and the Aerospatiale/BAC Concorde. Each aircraft is shown in photographs, scale line drawings from various perspectives, and presents the various models, prototypes and export models - technical aspects and measurements are also given.
Hardcover 248 pp

All Museum Store proceeds directly support C R Smith Museum programs. The Museum is a non-profit organization funded by the generous gifts of corporate partners, American Airlines Group employees and retirees, and museum friends.